Moon Days

What are they? 

According to Vedic tradition, moon days are not good days to learn or to teach – the influence of the moon is too strong or too weak to allow for the proper assimilation of knowledge.  Thus in the Ashtanga yoga tradition of Sri K. Pattabhi Jois, yoga classes are not offered on the days of the new and full moon.

Moon days follow the Hindu calendar, according to which days are considered sunrise-to-sunrise and, additionally, may be more or less than 24 hours long as they are based not on the clock but on the relative positions of sun, earth and moon (thus the new and full moon days listed here may differ from those in other calendars).

 

2018 Moon Days

Full Moon              New Moon

Jan 1, Mon               Jan 16, Tue
Jan 31, Wed             Feb 15, Thu
Mar 1, Thu                Mar 17, Sat
Mar 31, Sat              Apr 15, Sun
Apr 29, Sun              May 15, Tue
May 29, Tue             Jun 13, Wed
Jun 27, Wed              Jul 12, Thu
Jul 27, Fri                  Aug 11, Sat
Aug 26, Sun             Sep 9, Sun
Sep 24, Mon            Oct 8, Mon
Oct 24, Wed            Nov 7, Wed
Nov 22, Thu             Dec 6, Thu
Dec 22, Sat

 

Empty2.jpg

Holidays

2018 Holidays

The school is CLOSED:

May 26–28 – Memorial Day Weekend

Jul 4 – Independence Day

Sep 1–3 – Labor Day Weekend

Nov 22–25 – Thanksgiving

Dec 24–26 – Christmas

Dec 31 & Jan 1, 2019 – New Year’s